2014 Texas Architects Honor Awards

Please join the Society and our Honor Awards Committee in congratulating our 2014 Honor Award recipients. The honorees will be recognized at our 75th Annual Convention and Design Expo, which will take place on November 6–8, 2014, in Houston. They will also be featured in the November/December 2014 issue of Texas Architect magazine. The jurors' comments on the reasons for selection are included for each recipient.


Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA

John V. Nyfeler, FAIA, Austin

John Nyfeler is recognized as a volunteer who plants seeds and patiently nourishes them. In over 40 years of practice, he has exhibited extraordinary leadership in service to the profession through architecture and urban planning, design education, contributions to underserved populations, and as a community leader. Nyfeler is recognized for his generosity of spirit and unwavering integrity, and his breadth of interest and influence is complemented by a self-effacing demeanor and gentlemanly character, which have endeared him to so many.

Architecture Firm Award

Alamo Architects, San Antonio

Born out of a friendship dating back to architecture school, Alamo Architects is now a thriving firm of 50 in its 30th year that continues to produce outstanding projects reflective of its founding principles of innovation, invention and fearlessness. The firm, its principals, and employees have exhibited an extraordinary dedication to the San Antonio community and the profession and demonstrate leadership at every level. Notable work includes the firm's involvement with the San Antonio River Improvements Project, the history-making relocation of the Fairmount Hotel building, the internationally recognized Shops at La Cantera, and the Northwest Vista College Master Plan & Capital Improvements. 

Award for Community Service in Honor of James D. Pfluger, FAIA

Marcel Quimby, FAIA, Dallas

For 30 years, Marcel has been a leader, volunteer and visionary. Her passion and commitment to the preservation of our architectural heritage and quality of life have left indelible marks in communities throughout Texas.

Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward Romieniec, FAIA

Don Gatzke, AIA, Arlington

Donald Gatzke’s leadership as dean of the school of architecture at UT Arlington has established a framework for exemplary education that models the importance of integrating practice, community service, and academic excellence. Don has been a great leader, educator, mentor, and friend, not only to his students and staff at UTA, but also to the professional members of the AIA Fort Worth chapter and TxA.

Award for Young Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill, FAIA

Brian H. Griggs, AIA, Amarillo

Brian Griggs is recognized as a designer and brilliant delineator who has had an amazing impact on the firms, chapters, and communities with which he has been associated. He is currently president-elect of AIA Amarillo and serves on the National Architectural Accrediting Board's Visiting Team Roster; previously, he was regional associates director for Texas on the AIA National Associates Committee, AIA Lubbock’s AIA150 champion, on the TxA board, and chair of our New Media Committee.

Associate of the Year Award

Chris Grossnicklaus, Assoc. AIA, Dallas

Chris Grossnickluas exemplifies leadership through his professional work, with his involvement as editor of AIA Dallas' Columns Magazine, and in the chapter's Emerging Leaders Program. Through his volunteerism with AIA, he is filling the critical need of providing a broader national perspective and advocating for the profession through journalism.

Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Architecture through the Media in Honor of John G. Flowers, Hon. AIA

Canan Yetmen, Austin

For more than 20 years, Canan Yetmen has been a steadfast advocate for architects of Texas through her insightful writing, penchant for collaboration, and unceasing enthusiasm for design. An architect with words with a lifelong appreciation for architecture and its role in our lives, Yetmen has crafted a unique career helping architects to tell their stories, and promoting the value of our work to a wider audience.

Gaile Robinson, Fort Worth

As an art and design critic in Fort Worth, Robinson has steadfastly promoted the value of architecture to the community through coverage of the profession. She leads her readers on insightful architectural explorations and offers a window into the making of the city through her thoughtful words and images. 

Citation of Honor

Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, Dallas

The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza is recognized for its dedication to preserving the memory of history and working with others to preserve spaces in the Texas School Book Depository, Dealey Plaza, and Philip Johnson’s John F. Kennedy cenotaph for future generations.

The University of Texas–Pan American Office of the President, Edinburg

The UTPA Office of the President is recognized for nine decades of leadership in establishing a campus that values placemaking and high-quality buildings as essentials in the world of higher education through consistent collaboration with outstanding architects and campus planners. The office has established an inspiring legacy on which to build as the college transitions to the University of Texas–Rio Grande Valley.

Artisan Award

Escobedo Construction, Buda

A family business that combines old-world artisan craftsmanship with 21st-century technology, Escobedo Construction is being honored for its collaboration with Texas architects, who have come to rely on the company for its talent, innovation, vast wisdom in fabrication techniques and installation methodologies, and highest expressive levels of workmanship.

Haley-Greer, Dallas

A leader in the curtainwall and glass industry, Haley Greer masterfully bridges the world between artist, craftsman, innovator, and implementer. Through creative and innovative crafting and sculpting of the material and the technology, Haley Greer has served the architecture community with a true partnering spirit for 35 years, helping many an architect achieve the vision which is all too often unattainable.

Honorary Membership

Bob R. Simpson, Fort Worth

Through historic preservation, Bob Simpson has transformed downtown Fort Worth. His vision, energy, and love of detail have earned him a Restore America Hero Award from the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the Cornerstone Award from the Texas Society of Architects. For his dedication to built heritage, the Texas Society of Architects is proud to recognize him as an honorary member.

William R. Allensworth, Esq., Austin

William Allensworth is recognized as the premier attorney representing the interests of design professionals in the state of Texas. With his unsurpassed understanding of legal matters related to the practice of architecture and the construction industry, he has served the profession and future generations through active representation, education, and advocacy. For his ongoing support and contributions to the architectural profession, the Texas Society of Architects is proud to recognize him as an honorary member.

25-Year Award

Alley Theatre

Ulrich Franzen’s design for the Alley Theatre responded brilliantly to the needs of an innovative theater company and has provided the setting for 46 years of social and cultural interaction for the public. The design, created with Houston architects Mackie & Kamrath, established an iconic, sculptural building with a powerful presence on the exterior matched by a fluid and dynamic spatial interior that parallels the drama of theater.

For more information and to see lists of past recipients, visit our Honor Awards page.