2015 Studio Awards — Winners Announced

(Clockwise from top left) The winning projects: Kaihui Exchange by WW Architecture in Houston; J-Camp by Interloop Architecture in Houston; Saints Peter and Paul Chapel by Danze Blood Architects; and Dalian Airport Terminal Competition, Dalian Zhoushuizi International Airport by Corgan Dallas – renderings courtesy 2015 Studio Awards recipients

The Texas Society of Architects Studio Awards recognize unbuilt projects demonstrating innovation and excellence in design. The program emphasizes real or theoretical projects that go beyond the boundaries of architecture to address current critical issues. This year's submissions offered a variety of building typologies proposed for locations in Texas and abroad, predominately Asia. Four projects were selected from among the 72 entries. The awarded projects all demonstrate pure architecture that, in the jury’s opinion, could be “understood through the drawings alone, without the words.”

The 2015 Studio Awards jurors met on Friday, August 21, at the San Francisco offices of Bohlin Cywinski Jackson. Composed of all Bay Area-based architects, the jury included Karl Backus, AIA, of Bohlin Cywinski Jackson; E.B. Min, AIA, of Min | Day; and Craig Scott, AIA, of IwamotoScott Architecture.


Dalian Airport Terminal Competition, Dalian Zhoushuizi International Airport, Dalian, China
Corgan, Dallas

J-Camp, Lake Texoma
Interloop—Architecture, Houston

Kaihui Exchange, Changsha, China
WW Architecture, Houston

Saints Peter and Paul Chapel, Austin
Danze Blood Architects, Austin

Thanks to everyone who submitted entries, and congratulations to this year's winners!

Sponsored by 
Acme Brick
Andersen Windows