Cornerstone Award

Created in 1999, the Cornerstone Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions that enhance the quality of life by elevating architecture and the arts, promoting the value of community, or preserving the natural environment.

2016 Cornerstone Award Recipient: Patsy Galt Steves

TxA's 2016 Cornerstone Award recipient was Patsy Galt Steves of San Antonio. Steves is the chair of the board of Steves and Sons, a building materials company and fifth generation family business, and she was honored for a lifetime of contributions to the city of San Antonio.

As the wife of Marshall T. Steves, she assisted her husband when he was president of Hemisfair in 1968. She was one of the founders of the National Wildflower Research Center — now known as the Ladybird Johnson Wildflower Center — as well as the San Antonio Botanical Gardens. She was also a founding member of the Texas Folklife Festival and founder of the San Antonio Museum of Art’s Nelson Rockefeller Latin American Art Center.

Steves is passionate about preservation, as evidenced by her and her husband’s work restoring two homes in San Antonio’s King William District, and a commercial building on Commerce Street that received recognition from the San Antonio Conservation Society. Steves has also been instrumental in the publication of four books about San Antonio, its architecture, and its craftspeople.

The Cornerstone Award was presented at our 2016 Gala, held on Friday, November 4, during our 77th Annual Convention and Design Expo in Dallas.

Past Cornerstone Award Recipients

  • 2015 Mary McDermott Cook, Dallas
  • 2014 Gerald D. Hines, Honorary AIA, Houston
  • 2013 Kay Carter Fortson, Fort Worth
  • 2012 Liz Lambert, Austin
  • 2011 Walter J. Humann, Dallas
  • 2010 Bill Greehey, San Antonio
  • 2009 John and Dominique de Menil, Houston
  • 2008 Bob R. Simpson
  • 2007 William P. Hobby
  • 2006 Deedie Potter Rose
  • 2005 Walter Nold Mathis
  • 2004 Jack S. Blanton, Houston
  • 2003 Ruth Carter Stevenson, Fort Worth
  • 2002 Bill Ratliff , Mount Pleasant
  • 2001 Raymond Nasher, Dallas
  • 2000 Lady Bird Johnson, Austin
  • 1999 George and Cynthia Mitchell, Galveston