2013 TEX-FAB Finalists Announced

The jury for this year's competition consisted of Phil Anzalone of Atelier Achitecture 64, Maria Mingallon of Arup, Gregg Pasquarelli of SHoP, Randy Stratman of ZAHNER, and Skylar Tibbits of SJET. The following four finalists and four honorable mentions were selected out of a total of 68 entries from across the globe representing 14 countries on 5 continents. See proposals for each in the gallery above/resources section below:


  • Robot Assisted Sheet Metal Shaping by Lik Hang Gu, Nathan Shobe, and Qi Su
  • Cellular Complexity by Kais Ai-Rawi, Julia Koerner, and Marie Boltenstern 
  • Project 2XmT by Christopher Romano and Nicholas Bruscia
  • Sense by Isak Worre Foged and Anke Pasold


  • Organized Crime by Kyle Miller
  • Evaporative Folding by Jeana Ripple 
  • Hydromorph by Camden Greenlee and Brian Vesely
  • per-FORMING by Jake Newsum, Ammar Kalo

Finalists will be supported with a $1000 stipend to develop a prototype of their system, to test feasibility and technique. The prototypes will be exhibited at the ACADIA Adaptive Architecture Conference at the University of Waterloo this October. At that time, the jury will select a winner, which will be built in full scale through TEX-FAB's fabrication parternship with ZAHNER. The winning design will be exhibited at the TEX-FAB 5 conference, to be held in Austin in February 2014.

Published on July 18, 2013