2014 Studio Awards — Winners Announced

The Texas Society of Architects Studio Awards recognizes innovation and excellence in design. The program emphasizes real or theoretical projects that go beyond the boundaries of architecture by addressing current critical issues. This year's submission offered up stunning design while tackling substantial ecological, social, and cultural challenges.

The 2014 Studio Awards jury met on Friday, September 12, at The Diana Center at Barnard College in New York to review this year's award submissions. This year's jurors were Karen Fairbanks, AIA, of Marble Fairbanks; Belmont Freeman, FAIA, of Belmont Freeman Architects; and Suzanne Stephens of Architectural Record. 

The 2014 Studio Award winners are:

Seaholm Intake Facility, Austin

Danze Blood Architects and Mell Lawrence Architects

The Middle Ground At-Risk Youth Boxing & Education Facility, San Antonio

Vincent John Ramirez II, The University of Texas at San Antonio

In-Box House, Houston

Zui Lig Ng, University of Houston

Risky Habitat: Dynamic Using on the Buffalo Bayou, Houston

Peter Jay Zweig, FAIA, University of Houston

Law Enforcement Training Center at the First Responder Academy

Alamo Architects, San Antonio

We appreciate all those who submitted entries, and congratulate this year's winners.