The Voice for Texas Architecture

25-Year Award

Recognizing buildings in Texas that exemplify the enduring value of good design.

25-Year Award

Recognizing buildings in Texas that exemplify the enduring value of good design.

Award Overview

Each year, the Texas Society of Architects 25-Year Award recognizes one building completed 25 to 50 years earlier that has stood the test of time by retaining its central form, character, and overall architectural integrity. This award is an important public outreach program that focuses much-deserved attention on distinguished Texas architecture of enduring significance and exemplifies the Society’s intrinsic message that “Good Design Matters.”

2021 Recipient: Carraro Residence

Built in 1990 by Lake|Flato Architects, the Carraro house near Kyle is a primary source of what is now recognized as the Texas architectural vernacular. The architects had long admired the aesthetics of the 1920s Alamo Cement Plant in San Antonio, and a client on a tight budget gave them the opportunity to salvage part of the complex. They dismantled and relocated an eight-bay steel-frame shed and cut it into three pavilions, overlaying them with industrial elements and local materials. The Z-shaped plan included a central building, clad in a galvanized skin, with a bedroom and study; a screened volume enclosing a stone kitchen and living area; and a covered parking for cars and tractors that now houses a pool. The current owners use the home as a retreat for friends and family and make it available to the public for vacation and event rentals.

Dallas Museum of Art, Dallas
Edward Larrabee Barnes Associates with Pratt, Box & Henderson and Thomas & Booziotis

Lucile Halsell Conservatory, San Antonio
Emilio Ambasz with Jones & Kell

Pennzoil Place, Houston
Philip Johnson & John Burgee with S. I. Morris Associates

Moore/Andersson Compound, Austin
Charles Moore, FAIA, and Arthur Andersson, FAIA

Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, Austin
Skidmore Owings & Merrill with Brooks, Barr, Graeber & White

Dallas City Hall, Dallas
I.M. Pei & Partners with Harper & Kemp

The Alley Theatre, Houston
Ulrich Franzen & Associates with Mackie & Kamrath

The Menil Collection, Houston
Renzo Piano, Hon. FAIA, with Richard Fitzgerald & Associates

Temple Emanu-El, Dallas
Howard Meyer and Max Sandfield

Fountain Place Dallas
I.M. Pei & Partners

Tower of the Americas, San Antonio
Ford, Powell & Carson

Margarite B. Parker Chapel at Trinity University, San Antonio
Ford, Powell & Carson

Fort Worth Water Gardens, Fort Worth
Philip Johnson & John Burgee

NorthPark Center, Dallas
Harrell and Hamilton Architects (now Omniplan)

Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth
Louis I. Kahn

The Birthday, Sterling County
Frank Welch & Associates