Related Information
Commissions and Committees

The activities of the Texas Society of Architects are largely the result of member volunteers working in partnership with staff. The various committees and task forces responsible for this work are organized into five commissions, each of which is led by a member of the Executive Committee.

D. Michael Hellinghausen, AIA

1845 Woodall Rodgers Fwy., Ste. 1500
Dallas, TX 75201
214 826 7080

Executive Committee Members

Chair: D. Michael Hellinghausen, AIA, President
Connie G. Rivera, AIA, President-Elect
Eva Read-Warden, AIA, Secretary
Jim Susman, FAIA, Treasurer
Zaida Basora-Adrian, FAIA, Vice President, Advocacy
Filo Castore, AIA, Vice President, Communications
Gregory Ibañez, FAIA, Vice President, Practice and Recognition
Mike Allex, AIA, Vice President, Professional Development
James T. Perry, TxA EVP/CEO

Operations Commission

To oversee and coordinate, in conjunction with the Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and staff, the financial, administrative, and operational activities of the Society.

Connie G. Rivera, AIA

WKMC Architects
P.O. Box 2941
Corpus Christi, TX 78403
361 549 5646


Administrative Policies
Chair: Mike McGlone, AIA

Chair: Jim Susman, FAIA

Convention Futures
Chair: Mike McGlone, AIA

Chair: Mike McGlone, AIA

EDI Task Force
Chair: Nicki Marrone, AIA

Advocacy Commission

To anticipate trends and identify social, economic, and technological forces impacting the profession, and to formulate the best legal or political response that positions Texas Architects as a leader in defining issues and developing appropriate results. To represent the profession as its liaison to government agencies, especially those regulating the practice of architecture.

Zaida Basora-Adrian, FAIA 
Vice President, Advocacy

Huitt-Zollars Architecture
1717 McKinney Ave., Ste. 1400
Dallas TX 75202
817 676 2552


Government Affairs Steering
Chair: Wendy Heger, AIA

Sustainable Environment/Resiliency
Chair: TBD

School Safety Workgroup
Chair: Chris Huckabee, AIA

Communications Commission

To support the overall goals of the Texas Society of Architects, as they relate to its communication with the general public concerning its activities, internal and external award programs, and positions with regard to those issues of professional concern to its membership.

Filo Castore, AIA
Vice President, Communications

Houston, TX
713 569 6249


Chair: Jesse Hager, AIA

Education Outreach
Chair: Rebecca Boles, AIA

Practice and Recognition Commission

To be the liaison between Texas Architects members and other component knowledge communities, incorporating issues of design, policy, and technology. To communicate with public agencies and private organizations affecting areas of interest, and provide for the sharing of information with members.

Gregory Ibañez, FAIA
Vice President, Practice
and Recognition

Ibañez Shaw Architecture
801 W. 10th St.
Fort Worth, TX 76102
817 306 4452


Chair: Michael Morrow, AIA

Design Conference
Chair: Audrey Maxwell, AIA

Honor Awards
Chair: Craig Reynolds, FAIA

Community Design Action Team
Chair: Michael Zaretsky, AIA

Professional Development Commission

To provide an internal member focus for member education and development, and for liaison with accredited Texas schools of architecture and for the integration and involvement of students in those schools into the Society.

Mike Allex, AIA
Vice President, Professional

Rike Ogden Figueroa Allex Architects
5309 Hurd Court
Harlingen, TX 78552
956 245 7949


Continuing Education/Convention Tours
Chair: Mike Allex, AIA

Practice Conference
Chair: TBD

Architectural Experience Program (AXP)
Coordinators: David Brewerton, Assoc. AIA; Monica Salazar, Assoc. AIA


Component Collaboration Task Force
Chair: Mary Crites, AIA