2019 Design Awards: Call for Entries Now Open!

The Texas Society of Architects Design Awards program recognizes outstanding built architectural and urban design projects by architects practicing in Texas to promote public interest in design excellence. The competition focuses statewide attention on the quality of our built environment while highlighting the important role architects play in every community. We are now accepting entries for our 2019 Design Awards competition.

The scope of projects we encourage encompasses new construction, adaptive reuse, pure restoration, the renovation of historically significant buildings, and urban design projects. For a project to be eligible, construction must have been completed after January 1, 2014, and the design architect must have been registered with the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners at the time the project was executed. Download the complete eligibility guidelines, presentation criteria, and entry requirements below.

The entry deadline is Tuesday, April 2, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. CT.


2019 Design Awards Timeline and Entry Fees

Call for Entries Opens: February 4, 2019
Entries Due: April 2, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. CT
Design Awards Jury: May 9-10, 2019
Projects Published: In September/October 2019 issue of Texas Architect
Awards Celebration: At TxA’s 80th Annual Conference & Design Expo in Galveston

Entry Fees

$205 per entry for TxA members
$395 per entry for non-members

View the 2018 Design Award Winners

Last year’s Design Awards jury — Anne Schopf, FAIA, Mehrdad Yazdani, AIA, Eric Cesal, Assoc. AIA, and Vivian Lee — reviewed 259 entries and selected 14 winners ranging from large mixed-use urban developments to temporary installations.

View a list of the 2018 winners.

Read about the projects in Texas Architect.