Related Information
About the Texas Architectural Foundation

The Texas Architectural Foundation (TAF) was established in 1952 to make possible deserving students’ dreams of an architectural education, and to enhance the quality of the academic experience at Texas universities. Since its inception, TAF has distributed hundreds of scholarships valued at well over $2 million to assist students pursuing careers in architecture and helped fund architectural programs in Texas schools of architecture. Scholarships are awarded through the Foundation to students at all levels as designated by the donors.

The Foundation’s success and strength has come from the generosity and goodwill of architects, architecture firms, and Texas Architects components, as well as other associations, organizations, and individuals dedicated to excellence in architectural education. The Foundation is able to expand and enhance its assets by:

  • Memorial gifts to TAF from architects and interested individuals, groups, or corporations in memory of deceased friends, or in commemoration of outstanding events or persons;
  • Bequests in the wills of architects and other interested persons;
  • Regular contributions from architects, AIA chapters, and other interested persons and organizations; and
  • Endowments or special designated grants by architectural firms, businesses, industry, and interested foundations.

The Texas Architectural Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization, approved by the IRS, and all contributions, personal or corporate, are tax deductible. The Internal Revenue Service also has ruled that nonprofit foundations may properly make gifts to TAF.

Eligibility and Application Process

TAF scholarships are awarded to undergraduate, graduate, or post-graduate students in the accredited departments or schools of architecture in Texas according to the criteria established by each donor and in accordance with the policies adopted by the TAF Board of Directors. All applications for TAF scholarships are made through the dean’s offices at the various schools.