25-Year Award

The Texas Society of Architects 25-Year Award is an important public outreach program that focuses much-deserved attention on distinguished Texas architecture of enduring significance and exemplifies the Society’s intrinsic message that “Good Design Matters.” The annual award recognizes one building completed 25 to 50 years earlier that has stood the test of time by retaining its central form, character, and overall architectural integrity.

2015 Nominations Due June 15

Nominations for this year's 25-Year Award are now being accepted as part of our 2015 Honor Awards Call for Nominations.

2014 Recipient: The Alley Theatre

Our 25-Year Award recipient for 2014 was the Alley Theatre of Houston. Ulrich Franzen’s design for the Alley responded brilliantly to the needs of an innovative theater company and has provided the setting for 46 years of social and cultural interaction for the public. The design, created with Houston architects Mackie & Kamrath, established an iconic, sculptural building with a powerful presence on the exterior matched by a fluid and dynamic spatial interior that parallels the drama of theater.

The award was announced in the November/December 2014 issue of Texas Architect magazine and presented at our 2014 Gala Evening, held on November 7 during our 75th Annual Convention and Design Expo in Houston.

Past 25-Year Award Recipients

Although the awards program experienced a hiatus after 1998, the program was reinvigorated in 2007. Previous recipients of the 25-Year Award are:

  • 2013 – The Menil Collection (Houston) by Renzo Piano, Hon. FAIA, with Richard Fitzgerald & Associates
  • 2012 – Temple Emanu-El (Dallas) by Howard Meyer and Max Sandfield
  • 2011 – Fountain Place (Dallas) by I.M. Pei and Partners
  • 2010 – Tower of the Americas (San Antonio) by Ford Powell & Carson
  • 2009 – Margarite B. Parker Chapel at Trinity University (San Antonio) by Ford Powell & Carson
  • 2008 – Fort Worth Water Gardens by Philip Johnson with John Burgee
  • 2007 – NorthPark Center (Dallas) by Harrell and Hamilton Architects (now Omniplan)
  • 1998 – Kimbell Art Museum (Fort Worth) by Louis I. Kahn
  • 1997 – The Birthday (Sterling County) by Frank Welch and Associates