Texas Architectural Foundation (TAF)

The Texas Architectural Foundation was established in 1952 to make possible deserving students' dreams of an architectural education, and to enhance the quality of the academic experience at Texas universities.

Photo Courtesy iStockphoto

Since its inception, TAF has awarded hundreds of scholarships to assist students pursuing careers in architecture and helped fund architectural programs in Texas schools of architecture. Scholarships are awarded to undergraduate, graduate, or post-graduate students according to the criteria established by each scholarship donor and in accordance with the policies adopted by the TAF Board of Directors.

TAF's success and strength has come from the generosity and goodwill of architects, architecture firms, and Texas Architects components, as well as other associations, organizations, and individuals dedicated to academic excellence. With this success, the Board of Directors has created the "TAF Tomorrow" initiative whereby the Directors are exploring ways to significantly grow Foundation funds that would entail a broadening of the Foundation's mission beyond exclusively funding architectural scholarships. While TAF remains committed to the original purpose of endowed gifts, by following the wishes of donors and their instructions for those endowments, the Foundation seeks to broaden the concept of architectural education beyond academia. Accordingly, the Board has set the following goals for the Foundation:

  1. To broaden and enhance architectural education.
  2. To promote responsible stewardship of the urban and rural Texas environments.
  3. To support community initiatives for good planning and design.
  4. To foster understanding of architecture's power to enhance our state and our lives.

The directors suggest and encourage the following methods for the expansion of the foundation's assets:

  1. By memorial gifts to TAF from architects and interested individuals, groups, or corporations in memory of deceased friends, or in commemoration of outstanding events or persons.
  2. By bequest in the wills of architects and other interested persons.
  3. By regular contributions from architects, AIA chapters, and other interested persons and organizations.
  4. By endowments or special designated grants by architectural firms, businesses, industry, and interested foundations.

Gifts and grants to TAF have been approved by the Internal Revenue Service as non-taxable donations when calculating personal or corporate income tax. The Internal Revenue Service also has ruled that non-profit foundations may properly make gifts to TAF.


TAF scholarships are awarded to undergraduate, graduate, or post-graduate students in the accredited departments or schools of architecture in Texas according to the criteria established by each donor and in accordance with the policies adopted by the Board of Directors of TAF. All applications for TAF scholarships are made through the office of the dean.

TAF Board of Directors

David R. Messersmith, FAIA

University of Texas at Arlington, School of Architecture
6826 Kingshollow Drive
Dallas, TX 75248
Phone: (214)436-0077

Chris A. Hudson, AIA

Vice President
Morris Architects, Inc.
1001 Fannin St Ste 300
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: (713)622-1180
Fax: (713)622-7021

Craig S. Reynolds, FAIA

Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc.
3535 Travis St Ste 250
Dallas, TX 75204
Phone: (214)528-8704
Fax: (214)528-8707

Ruppert S. Rangel, AIA

Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc.
340 Beech St
Abilene, TX 79601
Phone: (325)673-8178
Fax: (325)673-8196

Richard H. Bundy, FAIA

Bundy, Young, Sims & Potter, Inc.
1005 9Th St Ste 200
Wichita Falls, TX 76301
Phone: (940)761-2404
Fax: (940)761-2119

Debra J. Dockery, AIA

Debra J. Dockery Architect PC
118 Broadway St Ste 516
San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone: (210)225-6130
Fax: (210)225-7588

Kurt T. Hull, AIA

Ziegler Cooper Architects
700 Louisiana St Ste 350
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: (713)374-0007
Fax: (713)374-0107

William M. Reeves, AIA

Marmon Mok, LLP Architecture
700 N Saint Marys St Ste 1600
San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone: 210.223.9492
Fax: (210)223-2582

Frederick Steiner, Assoc. AIA

University of Texas-Austin, School of Architecture
310 Inner Campus Dr Stop B7500
Austin, TX 78712
Phone: (512)471-1922
Fax: (512)471-0716

Sarah M. Whiting, Assoc. AIA

Rice University School of Architecture
PO BOX 1892
Houston, TX 77251
Phone: (713)348-4044
Fax: (713)522-3105

Michael James Malone, AIA

TxA President
Malone Maxwell Borson Architect
718 N Buckner Blvd Ste 400
Dallas, TX 75218
Phone: (214)969-5440
Fax: (214)217-4151

Paul A. Bielamowicz, AIA

TxA President-Elect
400 W Cesar Chavez St Ste 500
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: (512)472-6721
Fax: (512)477-3211

James T. Perry

TxA Executive Vice President
AIA Texas Society Of Architects
500 Chicon St
Austin, TX 78702
Phone: (512)478-7386
Fax: (512)478-0528

TAF Staff

Sally Ann Fly, Hon. AIA

Program Director, Texas Architectural Foundation & Texas Architects Board
500 Chicon Street
Austin, TX 78702
Phone: (512)615-7730